Two New Electrical Safety Standards You Need to Know

  • Post comments:0 Comments
Two New Electrical Safety Standards You Need to Know

Two New Electrical Safety Standards of Interest to Safety Professionals

Changes in the Standard

These two standards offer testing for many factors that older standards did not.

Electrical protector gloves have been made of leather since the 1800s. The ASTM F696 specification was a leather specification with no testing for cut, puncture, or arc flash. With new materials being utilized and this new standard that includes more testing, you will see more innovative protector gloves come on the market. 

Cloth face covering efficiency, along with flame resistance and an arc rating or a flash fire certification, is now easily addressed with new standard tests.

Webinar

Date: July 22, 2021

Time: 2:00 PM Eastern, 1:00 PM Central, 11:00 AM Pacific

NOTE: The topic and information for this webinar come from an article written for OH&S Magazine. The authors are Hugh Hoagland, Kinectrics Arc and Flame PPE Testing Technical Specialist; Michael McDonald M.A. Sc., scientist at Kinectrics; Rob Taylor, B.S., Service Line Leader in Analytical Chemistry at Kinectrics; and Brian Shiels, M.S. Quality Manager at Kinectrics ArcWear Division.

Author

e-Hazard

The e-Hazard team is dedicated to ensuring people who work with electricity can go home safely to their families.. Read more about e-Hazard.

Leave a Reply